The Publishers Association (PA) is the leading trade organisation serving book, journal, audio and electronic publishers in the UK. Join The Publishers Association today and start benefiting.



The PA’s board, PA Council, consists of 15 representatives elected from the membership, together with the chairs of the Trade Publishers Council, the Academic and Professional Board, the Educational Publishers Council, the International Board and the Chief Executive. It meets roughly six times a year. A member of Council may serve up to two three-year terms.

Further details may be found here: icon PA Memorandum and Articles (98.77 kB)

The PA Officers consist of the President, Vice President, who is also the Treasurer, and the Past President.

The current officers are:

Dominic Knight President (Macmillan)

Nick Fowler Past President (Elsevier)

Joanna Prior Vice President (Penguin Random House)


The other current members of Council are:

Stephen Barr (Sage)
Mark Anderson (Pearson)
Jill Jones (McGraw-Hill)
Helen Kogan (Kogan Page)
Ursula Mackenzie (Little, Brown Book Group)
Stephen Page (Faber & Faber)
Nigel Portwood (OUP)
Gail Rebuck (Penguin Random House)
Charlie Redmayne (HarperCollins)
Jane Reeves (Thomson Reuters)
Abdul Thada (Sweet Cherry Publishing)
Jon Walmsley (Wiley-Blackwell)
Tom Weldon (Penguin Random House)

Colin Hughes (HarperCollins) Chair Educational Publishers Council
Emma Bourne (Macmillan) Chair International Division
Jamie Byng (Canongate Books) Chair of Trade Publishers Council
Richard Charkin (Bloomsbury Publishing) FEP/IPA Delegate
William Bowes (Cambridge University Press) Chair Academic & Professional Division