Parliamentary Book Awards


Published on Monday 8th October 2018.

The Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association are delighted to announce that the Parliamentary Book Awards – the only book award curated by bookshops and voted on by parliamentarians – is returning this year, with submissions opening to all UK publishers from today.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the House of Commons on Tuesday 4th December.

Launched by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association in 2016, the awards aim to celebrate the best of political writing and the long-standing link between politics, books and publishing.

Last year’s award saw politicians from across the political spectrum emerge as winners, from Nick Clegg with How to Stop Brexit (And Make Britain Great Again) to Harriet Harman for her memoir A Woman’s Work, which spans her entire career as Britain’s longest-serving female MP. Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian was won by Brendan Cox for his impassioned portrait of his late wife, murdered MP, Jo Cox, as a daughter, mother, wife, sister.

Publishers are invited to nominate books and authors for this year’s awards under the following categories:

  • Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian
  • Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian
  • Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian

Booksellers will then be invited to select a shortlist in each category, and parliamentarians will be invited to vote on the winners from November.

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive of the Publishers Association, said: The Parliamentary Book Awards are a wonderful way to celebrate the very best political books and we’re delighted to be working with publishers, booksellers and parliamentarians to recognise superb political authorship. In our politically charged times, this is a genre that is more vital than ever before and is gaining influence, readers and sales across the board. Political writing is thriving and these awards are a showcase of that.”

Meryl Halls, Managing Director of the Booksellers Association, said: “The Parliamentary Book Awards go from strength to strength each year, and we are thrilled to be launching our third iteration with the PA.  The Awards are a very positive way of cementing our connections with our parliamentarians, by celebrating their commitment to the written word, books and bookshops.  We are very much looking forward to rewarding great writing by politicians and to spending time in Parliament with them discussing book trade challenges and opportunities.”

Publishers can submit titles for consideration for the Parliamentary Book Awards at the following link; submissions will close on Tuesday 23rd October:

Notes to Editors

The submission criteria is as follows:

  • Books to have been published in the UK in Hardback or Paperback  between October 31st 2017 and October 2nd 2018
  • Books by Parliamentarians have to been written by a current or former MP, Member of the Scottish Parliament, Welsh Assembly or Northern Irish Legislative Assembly, MEP or Member of the House of Lords

Political Works by non-Parliamentarians should relate to UK or EU parliamentary politics or politicians. There are no fees attached to entries into the awards. 

The Parliamentary Book Awards 2017 winners were:
  • Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian: A Woman’s Work, by Harriet Harman
  • Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian: How to Stop Brexit (And Make Britain Great Again) by Nick Clegg
  • Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian: Jo Cox: More in Common by Brendan Cox
The Parliamentary Book Awards 2016 winners were:
  • Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian: The Long Winding Road, by Alan Johnson
  • Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian: Called to Account, by Margaret Hodge
  • Best Fiction by a Parliamentarian: Now is the Time, by Melvyn Bragg
  • Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian: Citizen Clem by Clement Attlee.