Parliamentary Book Awards call for submissions

NewsPress Release

Publishers are invited to nominate books for this year’s Parliamentary Book Awards.  

The three categories are:

  • Best Biography, Autobiography, or Memoir by a Parliamentarian
  • Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian
  • Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian

Publishers can use this form to submit their titles before the deadline on Friday 4 December. There is no cost for submission and publishers can submit as many books as they wish.

Booksellers will select the shortlist for each category and parliamentarians will then vote to decide the winners. The awards will be presented at an online ceremony in February 2021.

The Parliamentary Book Awards are the only book awards curated by bookshops and voted on by parliamentarians. Launched by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association in 2016, the awards aim to celebrate the best of political writing and the long-standing link between politics, books, and publishing.

Last year’s winners were James O’Brien’s How to be Right: In A World Gone Wrong, Rachel Reeves MP’s Women of Westminster: The MPs who Changed Politics and Ian Murray MP’s This is Our Story: How the Fans Kept Their Hearts Beating.