Publishers Association logo
Parliamentary Book Awards launched

Parliamentary Book Awards launched


The Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association are holding a parliamentary reception in the House of Commons to highlight the contribution made by the book and publishing industries to the economy and society.  The evening will culminate in the presentation of the inaugural Parliamentary Book Awards, three new awards celebrating the best work of fiction written by a parliamentarian, the best work of non-fiction written by a parliamentarian and the best work about politics by a non-parliamentarian. 

Publishers have been invited to nominate books and authors for these awards with the short list drawn up by booksellers.  Parliamentarians themselves will have the final say on the eventual winners. 

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive of the PA, said: “From inspiring box office hits such as Harry Potter and James Bond, to equipping young people with the skills they need to compete in the global economy and investing in knowledge, publishing is at the heart of ensuring the UK remains a successful, innovative and creative nation. These awards and reception aim to recognise the contribution publishing makes to the UK’s economy and society, while also celebrating the creativity of the people who are at the centre of politics.”

Tim Godfray, Chief Executive of the Booksellers Association, said: “We are delighted to be holding a Parliamentary Book Awards and reception in the Houses of Parliament on 6th December. This is a fitting way to bring booksellers, publishers and politicians together. It is important in particular that we recognise the role of booksellers in the book chain and beyond, not just commercially, but in terms of what booksellers contribute to society. We also look forward to taking our key messages of fair competition and a more equitable tax system to a wider audience”


Notes to editors

There will be three awards, with three titles shortlisted in each category. The shortlist will be decided by a panel of booksellers and every Parliamentarian will be invited to vote on the winner in each category:

  • Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian
  • Best Fiction by a Parliamentarian
  • Best Political Work by a Non-Parliamentarian

There are no fees attached to entries into the awards. 

The submission criteria is as follows:

  • Books to have been published in the UK in Hardback or Paperback between January 1st 2015 and October 31st 2016
  • Books by Parliamentarians to have been written by a current or former MP, Member of the Scottish Parliament, Welsh Assembly or Northern Irish Legislative Assembly, MEP or Member of the House of Lords
  • Political Works by non-Parliamentarians should relate to UK or EU parliamentary politics or politicians