DATE CHANGE: Parliamentary Book Awards 2019


Ceremony to take place in February 2020

The Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association have announced that the Parliamentary Book Awards – the only book award curated by bookshops and voted on by parliamentarians – has been postponed and will now take place on Wednesday 26th February 2020. 

The award ceremony for the Parliamentary Book Awards was due to be held on Wednesday 4th December at the Houses of Parliament but has been moved back due to the general election. 

Isabel Hardman, winner of Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian at last year’s awards, will be the presenter at the Parliamentary Book Awards ceremony in February, with Margaret Hodge returning as sponsor, introducing the evening. 

Nomination submissions closed on the 15th October and shortlists have been curated by booksellers, with MP’s to vote later for winners in the following categories: 

  • Best Memoir or Biography by a Parliamentarian 
  • Best Non-Biographical Book by a Parliamentarian 
  • Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian


For media enquiries, please contact: Ben McCluskey at Midas Public Relations. 

  • d: +44 (0)20 7361 7860
  • e:

Notes to Editors

The submission criteria are as follows: 

  • Books to have been published in the UK in Hardback or Paperback between 1st January 2019 and 31st October 2019. 
  • Books by parliamentarians must have been written by a current or former MP, MSP, AM, MLA, MEP or Member of the House of Lords.
  • Political Works by non-Parliamentarians should relate to UK or EU parliamentary politics or politicians. 
  • There are no fees attached to entries into the awards.